Ted Cruz’s Donald Trump scheme: The real purpose of today’s meeting of anti-immigrant minds

Posted: July 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

Ted Cruz’s Donald Trump scheme: The real purpose of today’s meeting of anti-immigrant minds

Salon ^ | July 15, 2015 | Simon Maloy

Posted on 7/15/2015, 2:52:08 PM by 2ndDivisionVet

Texas senator will have a very huge, very classy meeting with Donald Trump so he can benefit from Trump’s collapse.

******************************************

Donald Trump, the billionaire loud-talker whose head resembles a half-rotted cantaloupe, phoned in to MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” earlier today to discuss his bigly classy presidential campaign. The “Morning Joe” panelists did a fine job of pretending to treat Trump like a serious human politician, asking for his reaction to the Iran deal (“I could have made so much better a deal”) and once again asking him to defend his bigoted nonsense about Mexican immigrants (“I have hundreds and hundreds of Mexicans working for me. I love the Mexican people”). It was, in most ways, your standard Trump interview: irredeemably stupid.

There was, however, one interesting bit of news that Trump dropped: he confirmed that he is meeting with fellow Republican presidential candidate Sen. Ted Cruz today, and he’s doing so at Cruz’s request.

TRUMP: Ted Cruz called me, and – I don’t know why I’m meeting him, to be honest. But I do have respect for him. I respect the fact that, along with a couple of others, he came out and he came out very strongly and agreed with what I said on illegal immigration. And he came out very strongly and he came out early. And I respect that. I like him. He called me, he wanted to meet, and we are going to meet. What it’s about, I have absolutely no idea.

Say what you will about Trump, he doesn’t shy away from the fact that the best way to earn his respect is to say nice things about Donald Trump. And, of course, he’s correct: Ted Cruz has been one of the few 2016 candidates to actually defend Trump for disparaging undocumented immigrants….

(Excerpt) Read more at salon.com …

via Ted Cruz’s Donald Trump scheme: The real purpose of today’s meeting of anti-immigrant minds.

via Ted Cruz’s Donald Trump scheme: The real purpose of today’s meeting of anti-immigrant minds.

Comments

Leave a Reply

